Post-processing software ADMA-PP

The challenge

The increase in the variety of vehicles and the rising demands on advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) and autonomous driving lead to ever higher development requirements. As a result, post-processing is playing an increasingly important role in the automotive industry. The precision of the ADMA is limited by the quality of the IMU and the duration of a GNSS outage. The performance of the system can be greatly improved through post-processing. In doing so, ADMA-PP further reduces the position solution drift during GNSS outage and provides a step-free solution. To achieve this, the ADMA-PP calculates the input data in the time domain forward and backward and combines both results.

Advantages of the ADMA-PP

Signal optimization

The greatest benefit of ADMA-PP is the signal optimization. Because of the complex calculation algorithm, the position accuracy can be significantly improved by combining the navigation solution forwards and backwards. Another advantage is the compensation of position steps after GNSS reentry (e.g. after passing through a tunnel).

Offline RTK2 calculation through RINEX data

So-called RINEX data can be procured from RTK service providers. The ADMA-PP can improve the position accuracy to 1 cm 1 sigma even after a test drive. This means that the NTRIP or radio modem can be omitted in the test setup – but most importantly there are no RTK failures during post-processing due to the mobile radio network.

Subsequent modification of the ADMA configuration

Errors in the ADMA configuration can ruin the results of a test drive. With the ADMA-PP, all parameters can be adjusted afterwards.

Partial obsolescence of the initialization

The initialization drive to set up the Kalman filter is particularly difficult on public roads. A logic integrated into the ADMA-PP makes this initialization obsolete – more about this in the chapter “Operating principle”.

Extending capabilities such as Moving BASE and DELTA
Functional enhancements are possible with the help of ADMA-PP, such as DELTA Multi1 and Moving BASE2.

1 DELTA Multi: Distance calculation to any number of objects with a relative position accuracy of 1 cm 1 sigma. Online RTK correction data is required for each object. This enables a highly accurate absolute positioning solution to be realized.

2 Moving BASE: Distance calculation to any number of objects with a relative position accuracy of 1 cm 1 sigma. Online RTK correction data is not required here, accuracy is achieved by combining Hunter and Target ADMA pseudo range, carrier phase and Doppler measurements. However, no highly accurate absolute positioning solution can be realized.

Tool chain

The ADMAnet and GNSS raw data are acquired via Ethernet during a test drive. An ADMA-PP project wizard enables fast and productive processing.

Operating principle

The ADMA-PP completely maps the function of the Kalman filter and the GNSS receiver in one software solution. With the ADMAnet and GNSS raw data of a test drive, the algorithms for the calculation of the system states can be repeated afterwards. This enables a high degree of flexibility as well as the option to calculate data in the time domain forward and backward with subsequent combination of the individual solutions.

I) Forward 1: The results of the first forward calculation equal those of the online drive. In the meantime, however, the software learns all transient parameters of the Kalman filter.

II) Backward: In backward calculation, the test drive is run backward in the time domain – as if you were driving through a tunnel from the other end, for example. The drift effects during a GNSS outage are different compared to forward motion.

III) Forward 2: In the second forward calculation, ADMA-PP runs the test drive forward again, but with the Kalman filter parameters obtained from the first forward run.

IV) Combined: The third calculation combines the forward and backward solution. This represents the final result of the ADMA- PP. All data channels are drift-minimized and step-free.

Equipment

ADMA, ADMA-PP, GeneSys Ethernet Logger

Summary

The greatest benefit is the signal optimization. On the one hand, the complex calculation algorithm of the ADMA- PP improves the accuracy of an ADMA by combining the navigation solution forward and backward, especially in case of total GNSS failure. On the other hand, hard position steps after GNSS reentry are almost completely compensated.

You can download the technical paper now, on this page, and read it in full!

Approved for publication. For further information, just give us a call.

In case of publishing/printing, please send a sample copy to:

GeneSys Elektronik GmbH
Dr. Bertold Huber
In der Spöck 10
77656 Offenburg, Germany
Phone: +49 (0) 781 969279 34
Email:
Fax: +49 (0) 781 969279 11

GeneSys calibration laboratory certified according to ISO 17025:2018

GeneSys has been accredited by the German Accreditation Body (DAkkS) according...

Automotive Testing Expo North America (NOVI), Detroit/USA, Oct. 25-27, 2022 booth 5012

Meet us at the world's leading international trade show for all...

The ADAS experience, Bad Kreuznach/Germany, Sept. 22-23, 2022

Take the chance to experience and touch our hardware setup and...
Previous articleWebinars

Post-Processing-Software ADMA-PP

Ground Truth / Simulation / RDE (Real Driving Emissions) / Offline RTK2 via RINEX / Spur-Visualisierung

Die Herausforderung

Die Zunahme der Fahrzeugvielfalt und die steigenden Ansprüche an Fahrerassistenzsysteme (ADAS) und das Autonome Fahren führen zu immer höheren Entwicklungsanforderungen. Dadurch nimmt das Post-Processing in der Automobilindustrie eine immer größer werdende Rolle ein. Die Genauigkeit des ADMA wird durch die Qualität der IMU und die Dauer eines GNSS-Ausfalls begrenzt. Die Leistung des Systems kann durch das Post-Processing stark verbessert werden. Dabei reduziert die ADMA-PP noch weiter die Positionslössungsdrift während GNSS-Ausfällen und stellt eine sprungfreie Lösung bereit. Um dies zu erreichen rechnet die ADMA-PP die Eingangsdaten im Zeitbereich vorwärts und rückwärts und kombiniert beide Ergebnisse.

Vorteile der ADMA-PP

Signaloptimierung

Der größte Nutzen der ADMA-PP liegt in der Signaloptimierung. Durch den komplexen Rechenalgorithmus lässt sich die Positionsgenauigkeit durch Kombination der Navigationslösung vorwärts und rückwärts erheblich verbessern. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die Kompensation von Positionssprüngen nach GNSS-Wiedereintritt (z.B. nach Tunneldurchfahrt).

Offline RTK2 Berechnung durch RINEX Daten

Bei RTK-Serviceanbietern lassen sich sogenannte RINEX-Daten beziehen. Die ADMA-PP kann damit die Positionsgenauigkeit auch im Anschluss an eine Testfahrt auf 1 cm 1 Sigma verbessern. Beim Versuchsaufbau lässt sich somit das NTRIP- bzw. Funkmodem einsparen – vor allem kommt es jedoch beim Post-Processing zu keinen RTK-Ausfällen bedingt durch das Mobilfunknetz.

Nachträgliche Änderung der ADMA-Konfiguration
Fehler in der ADMA-Konfiguration können die Ergebnisse einer Testfahrt ruinieren. Mit der ADMA-PP lassen sich alle Parameter im Nachgang anpassen.

Teilweise Obsoleszenz der Initialisierung

Die Initialisierungsfahrt zum Einschwingen des Kalman-Filters ist vor allem auf öffentlichen Straßen schwierig. Eine in die ADMA-PP integrierte Logik macht dieses Einfahren obsolet – mehr dazu im Kapitel „Funktionsweise“.

Funktionserweitungen wie Moving BASE und DELTA
Beliebige Funktionserweiterungen sind mit Hilfe der ADMA-PP möglich, wie zum Beispiel DELTA Multi1 und Moving BASE2.

1 DELTA Multi: Abstandsberechnung zu beliebig vielen Objekten mit einer relativen Positionsgenauigkeit von 1 cm 1 Sigma. Online RTK-Korrekturdaten sind bei jedem Objekt erforderlich. Eine hochgenaue absolute Positionslösung ist damit realisierbar.

2 Moving BASE: Abstandsberechnung zu beliebig vielen Objekten mit einer relativen Positionsgenauigkeit von 1 cm 1 Sigma. RTK-Korrekturdaten sind dazu nicht erforderlich, die Genauigkeit wird durch die Kombination der Pseudorange-, Trägerphasen- und Dopplermessungen von Hunter und Target-ADMA erzielt. Es ist jedoch keine hochgenaue absolute Positionslösung realisierbar.

Toolkette

Während einer Testfahrt werden die ADMAnet- und GNSS-Rohdaten via Ethernet erfasst. Ein Projekt-Wizzard der ADMA-PP ermöglicht eine schnelle und produktive Verarbeitung.

Funktionsweise

Die ADMA-PP bildet die Funktion des Kalman-Filters und des GNSS-Receivers vollständig in einer Softwarelösung ab. Mit den ADMAnet- und den GNSS-Rohdaten einer Testfahrt lassen sich somit die Algorithmen zur Berechnung der Systemzustände im Nachgang wiederholen. Dies ermöglicht ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität sowie die Option zur Berechnung der Daten im Zeitbereich vorwärts und rückwärts mit anschließender Kombination der einzelnen Lösungen.

I) Vorwärts 1: Die Ergebnisse der ersten Vorwärtsrechnung gleichen denen der Onlinefahrt. Die Software lernt währenddessen jedoch alle Einschwingparameter des Kalman-Filters.

II) Rückwärts: Bei der Rückwärtsrechnung wird die Testfahrt im Zeitbereich rückwärts abgefahren – als würde man beispielsweise einen Tunnel vom anderen Ende durchfahren. Die Drifteffekte während eines GNSS-Ausfalls fallen dabei im Vergleich zur Vorwärtsfahrt unterschiedlich aus.

III) Vorwärts 2: Bei der zweiten Vorwärtsrechnung lässt die ADMA-PP die Testfahrt erneut vorwärts ablaufen, jedoch mit den aus dem ersten Vorwärtslauf erhaltenen Kalman-Filter Parametern.

IV) Kombiniert: In der dritten Berechnung wird die Vorwärts- und Rückwärtslösung kombiniert. Dies stellt das finale Ergebnis der ADMA-PP dar. Alle Datenkanäle sind driftminimiert und sprungfrei.

Equipment

ADMA, ADMA-PP, GeneSys Ethernet Logger

Zusammenfassung

Der größte Nutzen liegt in der Signaloptimierung. Durch den komplexen Rechenalgorithmus der ADMA-PP wird zum einen die Genauigkeit eines ADMA durch Kombination der Navigationslösung vorwärts und rückwärts verbessert, vor allem bei totalem GNSS-Ausfall. Zum anderen werden harte Positionssprünge nach GNSS- Wiedereintritt nahezu vollständig kompensiert.

Das Technische Paper können Sie jetzt, auf dieser Seite, herunterladen und vollständig lesen!

Zur Veröffentlichung freigegeben. Rufen Sie uns für weitere Informationen einfach an.

Bei Abdruck bitten wir um die Zusendung eines Belegexemplars an:

GeneSys Elektronik GmbH
Dr. Bertold Huber
In der Spöck 10
77656 Offenburg, Germany
Phone: +49 (0) 781 969279 34
Email:
Fax: +49 (0) 781 969279 11

IHK Urkunde zum 25-jährigen Firmenjubiläum

Dieses Jahr feiern wir unser 25-jähriges Betriebsjubiläum und möchten uns bei unseren Mitarbeitern, Lieferanten und Kunden für die zahlreichen erfolgreichen Jahre bedanken, in denen...

StudiumPLUS: Ausbildungsbegleitend studieren – Doppelabschluss inklusive

Das Beste aus beruflicher und akademischer Ausbildung miteinander kombiniert: In nur 4,5 Jahren bietet die Hochschule Offenburg gemeinsam mit der IHK Südlicher Oberrhein, Gewerblich-Technischen...
00:02:03

Indoor Positioning System (IPS) – System Presentation

Beim Klicken auf die Vorschau werden Inhalte von YouTube geladen.